Lockhart ISD 2020 Board Election Results

Posted on 11/03/2020
District News Release

November 3, 2020

Burnett  maintains seat while Sanchez, Rayos, and Lockhart Join LISD Board

In Tuesday’s election, Warren Burnett maintained his seat for District 4, and Dr. Barbara Sanchez, Rene Rayos, and Sam Lockhart won their district contests to become the newest members of the Lockhart ISD Board of Trustees. 

Dr. Barbara Sanchez will serve for District 1 after winning the seat with 68 percent of the votes over Lisa Goerlitz. Sanchez is a lifelong resident of Lockhart and a Lockhart High School graduate. She is an educator with over 40 years of advocating for students and teachers. Her teaching career began in Lockhart ISD, leading her to later opportunities in AISD as a teacher, language arts specialist, Title 1 coordinator, bilingual specialist, Texas Education Agency specialist, ESC Region 13 Education consultant, Elgin ISD assistant superintendent, AUSSIE staff developer, and Frameworks Staff Development National Literary consultant. She currently works as an independent literacy consultant. 

Carl M. Cisneros will step down as trustee, having served two terms in the District 1 seat. During his tenure, Cisneros additionally served in the roles of vice president and president of the Board.

For District 2, Rene Rayos was the winner with 51 percent of the votes over Laurie Lay. Rayos is a life-long resident of Lockhart and a Lockhart High School graduate. He works as a program specialist for the Family Planning Program at Texas Health and Human Services. His volunteer work has included serving on The Education Foundation for Lockhart ISD, the Lockhart Evening Lions Club, serving as Past President and Education Chair for the Greater Caldwell County Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, and is a member of the Domitila H & Timoteo R Juarez, Sr. Excellence in Education Foundation.  He is also a graduate of the 2018 Lockhart ISD Leadership Lockhart Program, which provided him an in-depth understanding of school district operations.

The District 2 seat was vacated by Brenda Spillmann in May after serving three terms, including roles as vice president and president of the Board.

District 3’s race resulted with Sam Lockhart as the winner with 55 percent of the vote over Nick Metzler. Sam Lockhart retired from Lockhart ISD with 37 years of service in various roles including teacher, coach, assistant principal, principal, and district testing coordinator. He is also a United States Navy veteran. A long-time resident of Lockhart, his three children attended school in LISD and graduated from Lockhart High School. 

Becky Lockhart steps down as trustee for District 3. She was most recently elected in 2016 but previously served on the Board from 2000-2003. 

Warren Burnett ran unopposed for the District 4 seat. Warren Burnett was first elected to serve District 4 in 2016. During his time on the LISD School Board, he was part of the first school board in Texas to complete the eXcellence in Governance (XG) training.  A resident of Lockhart for over 20 years, Burnett is a business owner and additionally serves as deacon in his church. He has two children who are Lockhart Lions. This is the second term for Burnett.

“In Lockhart ISD, we are fortunate to have a school board that is laser-focused on student growth and achievement, and while we are saddened to see Mr. Cisneros and Ms. Lockhart depart, we are encouraged and confident in the new leaders our community members have elected to serve during our next great chapter,” said Superintendent Mark Estrada. “We are proud of all of the candidates who ran this year, clearly doing so with a mission to contribute to and serve our students and staff. I sincerely appreciate their willingness to run and desire to be a leader in our community. Our community is strengthened by people like you who don't see each other as opponents but teammates vying for a spot on the same team. ”

Lockhart ISD will canvass the votes and swear in members at the upcoming Board meeting Monday, November 16. 


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.