LISD honors employees for excellence

LISD honors employees for excellence
Posted on 05/26/2020
District News Release

Date: May 26, 2020

Lockhart ISD honors employees for excellence

Lockhart ISD announced the winners of the Lion’s Heart Awards, the 1.5 Champion Awards, and the District Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year today, surprising honorees at their homes to present the awards. The school district usually hosts an end of year employee awards banquet, but due to the ongoing global pandemic, LISD administrators instead brought the awards to them.

The “Lion’s Heart Awards” seeks to recognize outstanding service from the best in LISD. As the district honors "Teachers of the Year" each year, it also honors other LISD staff who truly demonstrate a commitment to building a legacy of excellence. 

Lion's Heart Awards Winners

These are the 2019-2020 Lion’s Heart Award Winners

Child Nutrition Employee of the Year
Paula Nunez - Navarro Elementary

Custodian of the Year
Luz Castillo - Carver Early Education Center

Instructional Paraprofessional of the Year
Marilyn Dildy - Clear Fork Elementary

Maintenance Employee of the Year
Leonard Garcia - Districtwide

Office Paraprofessional of the Year
Celeste Peters - Clear Fork Elementary

Professional of the Year
Kristin Scott - Plum Creek Elementary

Substitute of the Year
Delia Delgado - AB Strawn Elementary 

Transportation Employee of the Year
Carla “Tina” Joseph - Districtwide

Heart of Lockhart ISD Employee of the Year
Aida Rivera - Lockhart High School

“Pride of Lockhart ISD” Employee of the Year
Selected by the Superintendent
Yevett Manning - Navarro Elementary School

The “1.5 Champion Awards” honors those who have truly championed the district-wide focus to grow all learners by 1.5 years growth in reading and math this year. Each was selected by their campus principal for this honor. 1.5 Champion Award Winners

These are the 2019-2020 1.5 Champion Award Winners: 

Carver Early Education Center

Jacquelyn Sawyers

Alma Brewer Strawn Elementary School
Evelyn Salazar

Bluebonnet Elementary School
Lori Hernandez

Clear Fork Elementary School
Jennifer Reed

Navarro Elementary School
Patricia Lewandowski

Plum Creek Elementary School
Andrea Trevino

Lockhart Junior High School
Jeff Knickerbocker

PRIDE High School
Anna Baker

Lockhart High School
Jacquelyn White

The district announced the Campus Teachers of the Year in early April. From this group, today the district announced this year’s district-level winners. Jessie Galvan is the LISD Elementary  Teacher of the Year, and Avri DiPietro is the LISD Secondary Teacher of the Year. They will now represent LISD in the Regional Teachers of the Year competition.

LISD Teachers of the Year

“As we drove across Caldwell, Comal, Hays, and Travis Counties this morning, we once again realized just how far our amazing staff are willing to drive each day to work in Lockhart ISD,” said Superintendent Mark Estrada. “Each of the employees we surprised and honored today is performing at high levels, demonstrating the excellence and commitment we know is necessary to provide our Lions, as well as our staff, what they need to grow and achieve highly. We are grateful to them for their heart for people, being locked on excellence, and unlocking their fullest potential as well as those they serve. It is truly a great time to be a Lockhart Lion!”

While the district was unable to host the usual employee awards dinner, LISD plans to host an event in the future to more formally celebrate these honors. Additionally, the school district will also honor its retirees at a later date due to the ongoing pandemic. 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.